Sharing the fun and creativity in my world and encouraging the same in yours.

Stephanie aka @skinnyjeans asked me for this stuffing recipe. I serve this mainly on Thanksgiving but it’s good any time of the year.

Stephanie (and any other vegetarians/vegans), you can simply leave out the sausage and substitute gluten-free bread for my herbed French bread. If you’re making your own bread, I encourage you to add the herbs to the recipe. It makes a world of wonderful goodness!

I’ve also heard many people substitute cornbread in place of regular bread because cornbread is gluten-free apparently, (but please check it out for yourself to be on the safe side). Anyway, play around with the recipe, have fun and enjoy! 🙂

Ingredients

  • Homemade herbed croutons (see recipe below)
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 16 oz. of ground pork sausage
  • 1 med. onion, chopped
  • 1-2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 large red delicious apple, peeled & chopped
  • 2-4 cups of low-salt chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
  • salt and pepper

Instructions

  • In large heated stockpot, add olive oil (just cover the bottom, 1-2 Tbs.) and sausage. Separate and brown sausage until cooked through. Remove sausage to bowl and set aside.
  • Add onion (and a little olive oil, if needed) to pot and saute until translucent.
  • Add celery (and a sprinkle of salt and pepper), saute for about 10 minutes until tender.
  • Add chopped apple. Cook for 5 minutes.
  • Add cooked sausage to pot.
  • Pour in 1 cup of chicken broth (or veg. broth), stir to get all the great flavor from the bottom of the pot.
  • Add croutons, stir/fold gently & add more broth til moist but not wet (1-2 cups).
  • Pour stuffing into a greased 9 x 13 casserole dish and bake in a preheated 350 deg. oven for 30-45 minutes.

French bread recipe

I make a French bread (no dairy, no egg) in my bread machine and turn it into herbed croutons for this stuffing.

  • 1-1/3 cups of warm water
  • 2 Tbs. of sugar
  • 2 tsps. of salt
  • 4-1/3 cups of unbleached flour
  • 2 tsps. active dry yeast
  • 3/4 tsps. each of parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme

I like to mix the herbs into the last 1/3 cup of flour before putting it into the bread machine. Put the ingredients in the bread machine in the order above, set to regular. This produces a 2-lb. loaf of herbed French bread.

Croutons

Once bread is cooled, dice up the entire loaf. Yes, the entire loaf!! Okay, you can give the ends to your hungry spouse or munchkins but that’s it. Then spread the cubes on a cookie sheet and toast in a 400 deg. oven for 10-20 minutes until lightly browned & crunchy. Voila! Herbed croutons for your stuffing! 🙂

This recipe usually fills two large cookie sheets. I then let the bread cool, pour into Ziploc bags and the croutons are ready to use later that day or the next. One added benefit, this process will make your home smell soooo good, you’ll have people drooling as they walk into the house! 😀

NOTE:  Chestnuts are a good addition to this recipe as well. I’ve simply stopped using them because for one or two years I couldn’t get any at the store, and then I simply forget to add them.

ANOTHER NOTE:  I know there is a meat substitute but I’m afraid I can’t remember what the heck it is since I’m not vegetarian.

Vegetarians and vegans, please help me (and the rest of the readers) and comment below with ideas. Thanks! 🙂

Copyright 2011 – All rights reserved.

Comments on: "Herbed Stuffing with Sausage and Apples" (2)

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your stuffing recipe! Making the herbed bread is such a great idea. I started looking around the store for pre-made breads and was thinking of just making some bread from scratch because there are some good gluten-free mixes out there. I can then do like you and add in the herbs. Yay!

    • Hi Stephanie! I’m glad you like this recipe. I used to add the herbs with the veggies and used plain French bread/toast until I stumbled across the “bread stuffing mix” in a grocery aisle and read the ingredients. That sparked a thought, “I can make this at home!” without all the preservatives and other chemicals. I made a note of the key herbs I liked and thought of as part of a Thanksgiving meal, and tested it. The first loaf was a little too seasoned but after that I figured out the right amounts of each. Also, baking the herbs into the bread really allows the herbs to release their full flavors. I also use this same recipe (and play around with other herbs) to make croutons for salads. Yum! 🙂 Please come back and share your gluten-free bread recipe when it’s all done. I’d love to know how it turns out. Good luck!

Leave a Comment

