Sharing the fun and creativity in my world and encouraging the same in yours.

Yup. You read that correctly. I saved $41.22 at the grocery store yesterday. Woo-hoo!! šŸ˜€Ā  This is a personal best for me. Here’s proof:

**Happy Dance**

And the kicker?? I used only ONE coupon! **gasp** Yes, that’s right. Only ONE 50-cent coupon.

I used to shop once a week when both of us were producing steady, reliable incomes. For several years now, my husband’s income has been intermittent (more steady recently but still we never know if he’ll get a full week’s worth of work-he’s a carpenter), and my income has been negligible so we shop on a daily basis.

I also stopped using coupons years ago on a consistent basis because 1) my Mac couldn’t print out online coupons; 2) we stopped buying the Sunday paper long ago; 3) my husband or I would forget them or would take them and forget to give them to the cashier.

I’ve gotten back into using coupons again because I now have access to online coupons (thank you to the coupon people for programming this ability for the Mac computers!). I am also following the weekly sales at our grocery store more consistently.

Double coupons

As a side note, unfortunately, no one in town has a double coupon day. When I was out west in Washington state, it was wonderful! Not only could you shop at discount grocery stores but they would have double coupon days every Wednesday.

A few times every year, I call up a few of the local Publix stores, and ask if they have a double coupon day and sadly, they’ve never said, “yes”. I keep telling them they really should have one but to no avail. It’s been 15+ years now and it doesn’t look like they will ever change. Also, the other two local grocery stores don’t have them either. I checked. šŸ˜¦

How did I save all this money then?

The weekly ad this week just happened to be filled with Buy One Get One Free offers on products we use regularly: olive oil, pasta sauce, cheese, ketchup, pasta, crackers, sour cream, baked potato chips, and salad dressing my husband likes. Then, items like flour, orange juice, and sugar were marked down in price. Add to that, sale prices on broccoli, cauliflower and apples and I made out like a bandit!

I saved $40.72 on store sales alone!

The 50-cent coupon was for the crackers which brought the total savings to….$41.22!! Woo-hoo!!

The only things I had to pay full price for were the toiletries and paper goods (paper towels, toothpaste, floss, band-aids), but I’ll get them on sale in the next few weeks, I’m sure. šŸ™‚

Do you like to save on groceries too? Tell me about your savings success stories! I’d love to hear about them.

Copyright 2011 – All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment

