Sharing the fun and creativity in my world and encouraging the same in yours.

I didn’t think I would find anything interesting on my walk today but I was wrong. I haven’t researched this yet so the identity of this tree is up for grabs. Do you know what type of tree this is? I’m all ears…well, errrr…eyes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please let me know if you can name this unusual tree…or is it a bush gone wild? Thanks! 🙂

UPDATE: This is a Bottlebrush Tree, native to Australia. Now I’d like to know how the heck did it get to Florida? 😀

I must admit, it’s the only one I’ve ever seen here so maybe the previous owners of the house brought it over??

Copyright 2012 – All rights reserved.

Comments on: "Can You Identify This Tree?" (10)

  1. dianne - "life as i see it" - "just because" said:

    I don’t know, but it sure is beautiful

    • Yes, it really is beautiful. I felt like I made a new discovery when I saw it today. lol Well, at least it was new to me and that’s exciting!

  2. some kind of bottle bush?

    • We have a winner!! You are correct. I searched your suggestion and this tree is called a Callistemon or Bottlebrush Tree. It actually is native to Australia! It really does look like a bottle brush, doesn’t it?

      Thank you so much for helping me with this – I was really stumped. 🙂

  3. Not sure where you are from, but it is very common in Aust.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Callistemon

    • Yes, that’s what I read: this tree originates in Australia. I’m in the southern United States in Florida so I’m quite curious how it got here! One of life’s little mysteries.

  4. What a beautiful tree! =)

  5. Lisa!

    Call it the envy tree. In my honor. I am always anxious for springtime in March. We get our springtime in late late April or May and I have brushed snow off of my flowers in June.

    Sally

    • I can sympathize. When I lived in Maine especially, leaves wouldn’t be on the trees until JUNE! Ugh. Seven-to-eight months with very little green. I don’t miss those super long, cold and dreary winters, my friend. Worse than NJ/PA. 🙂 Hang in there!

Leave a Comment

